'Gimmie the Loot' Wins Top Prize at SXSW Film Festival

‘Gimmie the Loot’ Wins Top Prize at SXSW Film Festival

With the film and Interactive portions of the South By Southwest Festival over now and the music part getting into full swing, it’s time for some awards. Taking the “Best Narrative Feature” prize in film was director Adam Leon’s Gimme The Loot.

Other winners include Jay Bulger’s Beware Of Mr. Baker, which won the award in the documentary category and Eden, Directed by Megan Griffiths, which won the “Audience Award” for best narrative feature.

Leon’s film was very well received by audiences and critics during the festival and several distributors have reportedly been considering the project. The film is set in New York and tells the story of Malcolm and Sofia, two tough Bronx teens who are up and coming graffiti artists.

When their latest masterpiece is defaced by a rival gang, the two plot to get spectacular revenge and become the biggest writers in the city.

Click through for a complete list of winners.

Feature Film Jury Awards

NARRATIVE FEATURE COMPETITION: Grand Jury Winner, Gimme The Loot, Director: Adam Leon

Special Jury Recognition for Performance – Jamie Chung, Eden; Besedka Johnson – Starlet; Nico Stone – Booster


Grand Jury Winner: Beware of Mr. Baker, Director: Jay Bulger

Feature Film Audience Awards

DOCUMENTARY FEATURE Winner: Bay of All Saints, Director: Annie Eastman

NARRATIVE FEATURE Winner: Eden, Director: Megan Griffiths

Short Film Jury Awards

NARRATIVE SHORTS: Winner – The Chair, Director: Grainger David

DOCUMENTARY SHORTS: Winner – CatCam, Director: Seth Keal

MIDNIGHT SHORTS Winner – Don’t Hug Me I’m Scared, Directors: Rebecca Sloan & Joseph Pelling

SXGLOBAL SHORTS Winner – The Perfect Fit, Director: Tali Yankelevich

ANIMATED SHORTS Winner – (notes on) biology, Director: Danny Madden

MUSIC VIDEOS Winner – Battles, “My Machines” Director: DANIELS

TEXAS SHORTS Winner: Spark, Director: Annie Silverstein

TEXAS HIGH SCHOOL SHORTS Winner: Boom, Director: Daniel Matyas & Brian Broder

SXSW Film Design Awards presented by iStockphoto

EXCELLENCE IN POSTER DESIGN Winner: Man & Gun, Designer: Justin CoxSpecial Jury Recognition: Pitch Black Heist Designer: Andrew Cranston

Audience Award Winner: The Maker, Designer: Christopher Kezelos

EXCELLENCE IN TITLE DESIGN Winner: Les Bleus de Ramville Designer: Jay Bond, Oily Film Company Inc.

Special Jury Recognition: X-Men: First Class, Designer: Simon Clowes, Prologue Films

Audience Award Winner: Bunraku, Designer: Guilherme Marcondes, Hornet Inc.

SXSW Special Awards

SXSW WHOLPHIN AWARD Winner: The Black Balloon, Director: Benny Safdie & Josh Safdie

SXSW CHICKEN & EGG EMERGENT NARRATIVE WOMAN DIRECTOR AWARD Winners: Megan Griffiths for Eden and Amy Seimetz for Sun Don’t Shine

LOUIS BLACK “LONE STAR” AWARD Winner: Bernie, Director: Richard Linklater

Special Jury Recognition: Trash Dance, Director: Andrew Garrison